THE CITADEL

My soul is a crystal pool

locked in a high mountain valley.

The singing clarity of thought

seeks ever to move into the flood

of kindred awareness.

 

A single stream flows from my citadel,

as words and music bear testimony

to its existence.

 

Hear my words

and move to the music of my soul.

 

For when I seek an exit

by any other path,

my soul becomes hidden

in the mist of fear.

 

Someday I will be there in my music.

Someday my words will become reality.

The flood gates will open

and my soul will plunge with delght

into the warmth of acceptance.

But will I miss the high mountain?

c. Donna Swanson

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THE CITADEL

  1. leah J. Lynn says:

    This was well written and something that I quiet understand. will you miss it.

  2. swanrose says:

    last verse is really nice

  3. ~L says:

    so extremely amazing!!!

  4. Beautiful, and gorgeous photo.

  5. Wyoming Diva says:

    “For when I seek an exit by any other path, my soul becomes hidden in the mist of fear.” Very powerful – loved it!

Leave a Reply

