The Pine

(A thought from the far side of infidelity)

I am a tree uprooted;
a tall pine who could not bend
and so I fell,
and, in my falling,
tore branch and limb
from the forest around me.

“Stay my fall!” I cried.
“Teach me to bend, I beg you!”
But my heart is pine,
Lofty and stiff are my branches
and my unbending heart weeps alone.

I lie here now
on the softened needles of my defenses.
Feeling the ache of brokenness,
the agony of imperfection,
gazing at the sky I scorned.

My roots are cut off from the earth.
They rise above me, naked and exposed.
I cannot plunge them back into
the soil of my beginnings.
The earth disdains them.

Will I be left here to decay?
Or with what shall my brokenness be healed?
Oh, Carpenter!
Am I to be fashioned for some further use?

c.2011 from SPLINTERS OF LIGHT, Donna Swanson

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Pine

  1. A.B. Thomas says:

    This was an utter delight to peruse, fantastic!

  2. Thank you, Anthony. My twin brother didn’t have quite that reaction when I sent it to him shortly after he left his wife. Said it kept him depressed for days. Ah, well, we write the truth we see, I guess.,

  3. Another wonderful write, Donna. The parallels are many in this. I worked as a logger in the northwest in my younger days, so the visual was vivid of the uprooted tree.

  4. Thank you, Charles. What wonderful scenery your workplace provided! I sense some of that in your writing.

  5. This is such a lovely piece, and a most enjoyable read, love it 🙂

  6. Jingle says:

    a tree’s perspective,
    how creative.

    well done,

  7. Catie Eliza says:

    I love the poem, as usual you write so eloquently and with such vivid pictures. Most of all I love the way that though there’s no pretending that the fall was ideal, there’s recognition that some good can come of this by the intervention of a carpenter… I heard of a carpenter who is exceptionally good at redeeming things a few times before… Hope your twin lets Him bring restoration to the situation. xx

  8. bendedspoon says:

    Great thoughts. I know of fallen unbending pine. It learned to look up now — whereas before it looked down. Looking up to you and then beyond 🙂

  9. I enjoyed this piece very much. The title drew me in because I have a similar post, The Pines, it’s about being a young boy growing up in the arms of an old sticky patch of pines. Nice blog Dswan.

Leave a Reply

