HIGH AND HOLY DAYS

These are high and holy days of the soul.

All ground is sacred for Jesus walks it with me.

 

My child brought me a gift today;

a flower covered with kisses,

well-warmed in sandy fingers.

A bird sang in the rose arbor,

I saw a nest there yesterday.

The calico cat is batting at a columbine.

 

The distant grumbling of my husband’s tractor

flows into my kitchen as I prepare lunch.

A gentle breeze brings sweet to my senses

a breath of the quiet brook

running lazily to the sea.

 

High and holy days of the soul to be celebrated with wonder,

lived in joy

and shared with abandon.

When every moment is a delight to the mind,

a time well made for communion.

 

I know there will be times of sadness,

when my heart will be weary of singing.

And those days will be no less holy

for having been celebrated with tears

rather than alleluias.

All days are holy and given by God

for the uplifting of his beloved children.

 

c.2011 Donna Swanson

 

 

 

 

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HIGH AND HOLY DAYS

  1. Jingle says:

    holy poem indeed, love the nature and the greenness.

  2. becca givens says:

    All days are holy and given by God

    This is so true – and a wonderful reminder. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Leo says:

    Excellent words to go by..

    Is that your photography, it is very beautiful 🙂

    A Poetic World – My Rally Post

  4. Thank you, Leo,
    Yes, that is one of my two flower beds in it’s more pristine condition, i.e., weedless.

Leave a Reply

