THREE PIECES ON A FATHER’S LIFE.

 

 

 

THE RAGGEDY MAN

 

They call me the Raggedy Man;

filled with straw,

funnyRaggedyMan.

I have no place to call my own,

just what they give

to a RaggedyMan.

But I remember how it used to be,

when my smile was new

and my heart was free!

In the beautiful days

of you and me;

long before the time of the Raggedy Man.

Now I live like a Raggedy Man;

filled with mem’ries

of how it began.

‘Til you told me your life was too grand

to throw away on a Raggedy Man.

 

Yes, the clown must put away his hurt and his broken heart; the way he lays aside his coat and tie. He puts on laughter and a painted smile, and runs onstage to dance the Piper’s tune.  The child within him plays the game of “Let’s Pretend” and his eyes sparkle with tears unshed.

No one knows the broken man inside.  No one sees the little boy who still hurts but cannot cry.  So, dance, funny Raggedy Man!  Keep our hearts light and bring us joy!  We love you, Raggedy Man!

 

Clowns don’t cry while the lights are bright.

And no one knows when things don’t go right.

But the spotlight fades

while they clap their hands,

and they soon forget a lonelyRaggedyMan.

But he remembers how it used to be!

When his smile was new

and his heart was free;

In the beautiful days that used to be.

Long before the time

of the Raggedy Man!

 

IF I GAIN THE WHOLE WORLD

(by a son of the Father)

When I was a young man,

just barely seventeen,

I thought someday

that I might rule the world.

With everything I wished for

my life would be a song;

and everything would be just as I planned!

Oh, the dreams of a man of seventeen!

The day that I turned twenty-one

I thought the stage was set.

The road of life stretched wide

and I was free.

I saw the shine of amber eyes

and knew I’d found my queen!

The fabric of my life was nearly done!

Oh, the joy of a man of twenty-one!

The year that I turned forty

my world had come undone.

Alone I faced the winter’s discontent.

I’d gained the world of wealth

but I could not buy a friend.

Despair was all I ever hoped to see.

Oh to be a boy of seventeen!

Now, my years are eighty-three,

my eyes are growing dim.

But my memory is clear and I can see

that life does not consist

of what we see and touch.

But, rather, what we’ve given, Lord, to thee!

Oh, to be your man of eighty-three!

 

 

HE STOPPEDJUSTSHORT OF GLORY

He stopped

just short of glory,

and laid his burden down.

Then stepped upon the golden shore

and won the victor’s crown.

I do not ask

to bring him back;

though heartache touch us here.

But just remember where he’s gone

and what is waiting there.

He waits today

within a land

we’ve only read about;

And looking back, he calls us on,

erases fear and doubt.

c.2011, by Donna Swanson, from SPLINTERS OF LIGHT

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THREE PIECES ON A FATHER’S LIFE.

  1. Jingle says:

    awesome…

    Raggedman is not that bad, HaPPY fATHER’S dAY.

    tHANKS FOR THE CONTRIBUTION TO POETRY POTLUCK,

  2. All of these are beautiful you are masterful story-teller

Leave a Reply

