BOSS CAT

BOSS CAT

I know you feel no reverence

for my godhood;

not like the golden collie

over there who shudders with pleasure

at any careless touch.

 

No, your attentions bode

a lower ambition;

making me aware of your presence

in case I’d forgotten some tidbit

you’d admire.

 

Still, your velvet hide

soothes my jangled nerves

with warmth and pleasure

as you weave your witch patterns

around my bare legs,

bidding me linger in the twilight.

 

You know your worth

and greet with high disdain

any suggestion of humility.

Let others bow and cower;

she who wins your favor

is honored indeed!

c.2011 Donna Swanson

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to BOSS CAT

  1. sounds like an egotistical tyrant, right on the theme, well done 🙂
    enjoy the potluck!

    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/06/11/on-friendship/

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    “Boss” is always assumed when it come to a cat. I love this, Donna. Perfect for Potluck theme today and it has the advantage of not being mean to anyone. Well done.

  3. Thanks, gals! I always loved taking down clothes in the later afternoon with a cat weaving around my legs. You didn’t have to worry about walking anywhere so you could just move slowly as though you were dancing.

  4. Jingle says:

    super smart take.

    enjoy potluck!

  5. Andy says:

    A very enjoyable read.
    Nice take on the prompt.

    Thanks for sharing.

  6. Reflections says:

    Wonderfully shared… right on take of the prompt.

  7. Catie Eliza says:

    What a superb depiction… I really enjoyed it. :] xx

  8. booguloo says:

    We have a plaza cat. Only pays attention to the few hands who feeds him. He will only eat dry food and allow petting for a minute or so before being fed. Shorty is King and knows it. Oh and I enjoyed your poem… lol

  9. If comparison of a boss to a cat is your goal, it works well. Cat’s ARE bossy and arrogant!

  10. Ravenblack says:

    Cats are born with boss attitudes, often expecting to be served and can get sulky when ignored. But you know that when they love you, it’s because they chose to, not out of servitude. 🙂

  11. Thanks, guys,
    We’ve never had a housecat, but I do believe if I ever become an old widder woman, I’ll have one!

  12. CC Champagne says:

    Animal lover, me… Anything to do with our four legged pets (canine or feline) will always get my vote! Thank you for sharing!

  13. Judith Evans says:

    I love this description of a feline friend! We have a “boss cat”, too. Wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂

  14. This is fabulous Donna I love the furry little tyrants 😛

  15. Miss Kitten says:

    Absolutely love it! It encapsulates the master/slave relationship between a cat and it’s owner/mastern (human slave).

Leave a Reply

