Tuesday

As I dressed for work September 11, I heard the report of a plane hitting the first WTC tower.  Wanting to hear James Dobson as I drove, I turned on the radio, and suddenly the morning changed.  The world changed.  A few days later I put into words the disorientation I felt at that time…

 

 

TUESDAY

My mind is not my own today.
Focus is not on mundane occupation.
Another matter is being processed
and my mind is not my own.

It is only partly engaged with today.
That other day still holds its attention.
That day of awesome surprise
and death by proxy.

My mind is not my own today.
It is held in hearts so diverse.
Hearts that are breaking;
Hearts that seethe with fanatical hatred;
Hearts too young to comprehend their loss,
and hearts stirred to patriotism.

The minds of America have been imprinted
with a date and an image
seared on the soul of a nation;
About to be flung to the ends of the earth
on the wings of American eagles.

My mind is not my own today.
But God is there to hold it safe
In a Mind that has held so many dates
and hearts
and the myriad images of war.

c.2011 Donna Swanson/Splinters of Light

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tuesday

  1. “Hearts stirred to patriotism”. Yes. I have such vivid memories of the after effects of this day. Flags on every car, proclaiming faith in our nation. A faith soon to be forgotten, in the throes of war. But you’re right, “God is there to hold is there to hold it [us?] safe, in a mind that has held so many dates”. And maybe we’ll come out of the other side okay, unscathed? We can only hope. Thanks for sharing with us!
    (BTW, your link on the promising poets parking lot site is broken…it’s the admin version of your page, just a heads! :-))

    • dswan2 says:

      Thank you. I’ll try to fix the link on Poet’s Parking lot. Not sure how, but maybe I’ll get lucky and figure it out! “8-}

      • dswan2 says:

        I found it. I don’t know how to remove the wrong link, but I put it in again linked to the proper page. Thanks!

  2. No problem! Glad to see if fixed so you get the deserved traffic!

  3. Jingle says:

    yeah…

    i am not allowed to comment early, bless you.
    powerful piece.

  4. Disturbing as it always will be to any sensitive heart..the hatred that one can hold in one’s heart for another! The tags for disguising that differs , that’s all…the guilt eventually percolates to all.

  5. i feel the pain, also,,
    i’m not an american, but it hurt, seeing deaths,,
    because every person in this world worth living.,.,

  6. zunberzt says:

    patriotic! nice poem

  7. K. McGee says:

    Our world is troubled, our hearts are troubled, these are troubled times. Your poem really speaks of how we are all affected by these things in our own personal ways.

    It breaks my heart to know that my children (as well as other’s) will forever feel threatened by the weight of war, intolerance, and hate that these and other images have created. But to the believer there is hope.

    • dswan2 says:

      Dear Friend,
      The world is indeed troubled, but when we see it through eyes of faith we remember the Master’s words, “In the world you shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” We live in a broken world but out home here is only temporary.

  8. WyomingDiva says:

    Your poem makes me think and wish that our world could be as strongly imprinted by the positive as they seem to be by the negative. Well written.

  9. missbrittab says:

    I love the way you said it, “My mind is not my own today…”

    Thank you for helping me to find myself in your words. Feel free to check out my blog http://www.missbrittab.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

