THE RAGGEDYMAN

Lyric

1. They call me the Raggedy man.

Filled with straw, funny Raggedy man.

I have no place to call my own,

just what they give to a Raggedy man!

But I remember how it used to be,

when my smile was new and my heart was free!

In the beautiful days of you and me.

Long before the time of the Raggedy man.

2. Now I live as a Raggedy man,

filled with mem’ries of how it began.

‘Til you told me your love was too grand

to throw away on a Raggedy man.

But I remember how it used to be,

when my smile was new and my heart was free!

In the beautiful days of you and me.

Long before the time of the Raggedy man.

3. Clown’s don’t cry while the lights are bright.

And no one knows if things don’t go right.

But the spotlight fades as they clap their hands

and they soon forget the lonely Raggedy man.

But I remember how it used to be,

when my smile was new and my heart was free!

In the beautiful days of you and me.

Long before the time of the Raggedy man.

(READING)

Yes, the clown must put away his hurt and his broken heart

the way he lays aside his coat and hat.

He puts on laughter and a painted smile and runs onstage

to dance the Piper’s tune.

And the child within him plays the game of Let’s Pretend,

while his eyes sparkle with tears unshed.

No one knows the broken man inside.

No one sees the little boy who still hurts but cannot cry.

So dance, funny Raggedy man!

Keep our hearts light and bring us joy.

We love you, Raggedy man!

 

c.2011 from Splinters of Light/ Donna Swanson

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THE RAGGEDYMAN

  1. dunstancarter says:

    It made me start picturing a song at a barn dance – enjoyable stuff

    • dswan2 says:

      Thanks for that comment. I’d never pictured him there; rather as a clown about to give a performance. Guess he could have been a rodeo clown, though. 😎

  2. Jingle says:

    thanks for sharing and displaying the award image, smiles.

    beautiful word play.

    A++

  3. k2king says:

    I like your words- they have a good foot stompin’, hand clappin’ spirit.

    • dswan2 says:

      Thank you, you are the second one to liken this to country. (See dunstan Carter’s comment.) I will have to read it again and see where that comes from.

Leave a Reply

