TRUE CHRISTMAS

TRUE CHRISTMAS

1. Oh, I loved to sing of Christmas and see candles on the tree.

I loved to sing of Mary and the child upon her knee.

yes, I loved to sing of Christmas and the beauty of that day,

Until I heard the truth of what occurred at Calvary.

 

CHORUS
Then the Christmas story dimmed before the wonder of the Cross.

And the manger child became the gift of God beyond all cost.

Now I sing the songs of Christmas with a new joy in my heart.

For I know the Christ of Bethlehem now beckons to the stars.

 

2. When you sing the songs of Christmas and see candles on the tree.

Oh, remember Mary’s Child did not remain upon her knee.

For this Holy one of Bethlehem walked into Galilee

and His light became a beacon to shine down on you and me!

c.2010 Donna Swanson

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

