A PLACE I KNOW

There’s a place I know where love is free

and laughter echoes back to me.

A place where danger fades away

and the nearest thing to tragedy

is a broken toy or rainy day

to interrupt a world of play.

The citizens of that fair land have golden hearts

and warm, soft hands.

They hover near me all the while

and light my world with such a smile

as must grace the face of angels

and they never go away.

 

Yes, once I lived within this land

and marched to the tune of a fairy band.

Through summers golden and winters bright

with diamonds for snow

and velvet for night.

 

Christmas was a dazzling blend

of all the colors, toys and friends;

of all the year’s most precious joys.

Thanksgiving was a symphony

of all the things home meant to me.

With cousins, grandmas, uncles bold,

cheeks to kiss and hands to hold.

All come back to the warmth of home

where love was the fire that quenched the cold.

 

My head says life was not that way

back in that simpler, younger day.

But my heart still finds it restful there

and if I choose to linger there,

and choose to remember what I will

of summers warm and winters still,

who is there to disagree

with what I choose of memory?

 

There’s a place I know where love is free,

and laughter echoes back to me.

 

 

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in Country and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

